PROCLAMATION



National Child Abuse Prevention Month April 2025

WHEREAS, in Federal fiscal year 2022, nearly 3.1 million children received either an investigation response or alternative response; and

WHEREAS, child abuse and neglect is a serious problem affecting every segment of our community, and finding solutions requires input and action from everyone; and

WHEREAS, our children are our most valuable resources and will shape the future of the community in which we live; and

WHEREAS, child abuse can have long-term psychological, emotional, and physical effects that have lasting consequences for victims of abuse; and

WHEREAS, protective factors are conditions that reduce or eliminate risk and promote the social, emotional, and development well-being of children; and

WHEREAS, effective child abuse prevention activities succeed because of the partnerships created between child welfare professionals, education, health, community-and faith-based organizations, businesses, law enforcement agencies, and families; and

WHEREAS, communities must make every effort to promote programs and activities that create strong and thriving children and families; and

WHEREAS, we acknowledge that we must work together as a community to increase awareness about child abuse and contribute to promote the social and emotional well-being of children and families in a safe, stable, and nurturing environment; and

WHEREAS, prevention remains the best defense for our children and families.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Kittitas County Board of Commissioners proclaim April 2025 as National Child Abuse Prevention Month in Kittitas County and call upon all citizens, community agencies, faith groups, medical facilities, elected leaders and businesses in Kittitas County to participate in the efforts to support families, thereby preventing child abuse and strengthening the communities in which we live.

Dated this 1th day of April, 2025.

THE KITTITAS COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Laura Osiadacz, Chairman

Cory Wright, Vice-Chairman

Brett Wachsmith, Commissioner

Julie Kjorwik, Clerk of the Board